Find your inner Nanna

Spring has sprung. On the news they tell us to expect higher than average temperatures and less rain. It hasn’t rained in a few weeks already, our rainwater tank is empty and the garden is very dry. The higher than average temperatures are definitely true for this week, we are already hitting 27 degrees Celsius (sorry if you’re doing Fahrenheit, I’ve never quite gotten the hang of the conversions, 1 degree Celsius is 30something comma whatever it was Fahrenheit), in any case: too warm for this time of year.

We do dinner together on most days of the week, and I make an effort of producing a cake, a slice, some bikkies or chocolate mousse at least once a week. Totally depending on my time and fancy – and special requests from my hungry family :) – but also depending on weather.

Summers are long in Australia and, surprising as it may be, eventually we get fed up with ice creams, or any of the fancy slices or quick bake cakes that don’t need a 180 degree (Celsius, again …) oven for an hour. Now when I heard it’s going to be hot way earlier than it should be I got that inner Nanna urge …. I rumaged through my recipe collection to make the most of the last few ‘cooler’ days before it’s just getting too hot in the house to be bothered with being anywhere near a hot oven for too long.

I decided on this Strudel recipe from my Grandmother. I watched her make this many times, and I was allowed to help her (she was quite a strict teacher), and I still remember the first time I made it on my own for my parents, who were kind enough to totally devour it :)

Making the dough, letting it rest, rolling it out, putting the filling on, and getting the whole lot on the baking tray without breaking …. it’s quite a rewarding feeling. Only to be topped by the gorgeous smells coming from the oven. And the total silence later at the table, when all you hear is chewing and spoons scraping off every last bit of strudel from the plates.

So go out there, give it a go. I can highly recommend it: find your inner Nanna  :)

Apfelstrudel

 

 

Leave a Reply

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Exploratorius

Photo Hack & Curious Wanderer

Eli Glasman

Blog of author Eli Glasman

Dreaming in Arabic

Adventures in the UAE

Evelina Galli

USE THINGS. LOVE PEOPLE. DON'T SWITCH.

G'Nat's Eye View

Photography about Being

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Reluctant Retiree

Stories from Garrulous Gwendoline - a baby boomer surviving retirement

Montana Photographer

Showcasing Montana landscape, nature and wildlife photography

Filippa Levemarks Blog

Blogging from my artstudio in Göteborg, Sweden

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

photoversuch

Oder: Der Versuch des Fotografierens

PeopleTreats

Quick, fun and easy meals

TTP

Travel Tips and Pictures

Baz - The Landy (Out and About having fun)

Out and About photographing and writing about the Australian Outback...and having fun doing it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

