Pets allowed

My first Santa Photos this year. As a photographer that is.

Of course I have taken the kids to get their Santa Photos taken. Neither of them is a screamer, so all went well. Then they both grew a bit too fast, or maybe it was just a coincidence that all Santas in our area were midgets. No offense, but it is just looking a bit weird if the 10 year old sits on Santas lap in an odd sort of hunched over way to accommodate his long legs and smile in the camera while trying to lean back, but not too far, so that Santa can see the camera, too. We checked but didn’t really see any Santas or set-ups with maybe an extra wide bench, so we didn’t go anymore.

I remember I always used to watch the photographer, being a bit disappointed with their lack of obvious enthusiasm, I mean, hello, you get to take photos of people, it’s supposed to be fun! Their helper usually was the one jumping through hoops to make everybody feel at ease. Some of the photo packages were very expensive, too, overpriced actually, in my opinion. But as long as people line up … the joys of demand and supply.

Now, the local Cafe/Bistro and myself had the idea to do Santa Photos in our suburb. A lot of thinking went into the organization of things, decorations, Flyers got printed, emails were sent and prayers to the weather gods were issued, as the photos were to be taken outside, in the Cafe’s little courtyard.

I did some test shots, making sure that the green coloured shade sail wouldn’t give Santa a sickly greenish tint as well. And I did my best to prepare myself for any obstacles on the day: the sun moving, leaving people half in and half out of the shade, how to deal with crying children, how to avoid having people standing in my way, and obviously getting a hang of my flash and all my camera settings.

It did go well, no long queues or dramatic mishaps. We had little children, teenagers, Grandfathers, a lovely 90 year old Nan and quite a few dogs. Somebody had thought of bringing their cat, but in the end they didn’t :(

I understand now why the photographers I used to watch were not that enthusiastic. I tried hard to be, but in the end I was very focused on my job: making sure the photos are great. I would have liked to watch myself, to be able to compare. Some lessons were learnt, and if we do it again next year, there will be some more decorations, definitely a carpet, and a little bit of a different set-up, but overall, I think it all went very well.

So thank you to all that came down, and if you are in our area and didn’t, maybe you’ll feel like coming next year. Bring your cat, I was really hoping for a cat.

Anyway, here are some of the Santa Photos, enjoy.

https://www.facebook.com/azpictured

http://azpictured.com.au/

 

Santa2013web

 

Leave a Reply

Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Exploratorius

Photo Hack & Curious Wanderer

Eli Glasman

Blog of Australian author Eli Glasman

Dreaming in Arabic

Adventures in the UAE

Evelina Galli

USE THINGS. LOVE PEOPLE. DON'T SWITCH.

G'Nat's Eye View

A blog expressing how life looks to G'Nat through an existentialist lens.

for the love of nike

for the love of nike

The Reluctant Retiree

Stories from Garrulous Gwendoline - a baby boomer surviving retirement

Montana Photographer

Showcasing Montana landscape, nature and wildlife photography

Filippa Levemarks Blog

Blogging from my artstudio in Göteborg, Sweden

In Flow

Creativity is within us all

photoversuch

Oder: Der Versuch des Fotografierens

PeopleTreats

Quick, fun and easy meals

TTP

Travel Tips and Pictures

Baz - The Landy (Out and About having fun)

I'm on a journey to climb the world's highest mountains, and in-between to travel the Australian Outback, but crikey, above all else - to just have fun and a good laugh being Out and About!

taste of colours

everything has got taste

Adventure before Avarice

Andrew Bain: travel writer, author, adventurer, photographer, blah, blah

silverpil

mostly my pictures

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

