The fruit of bees is desired by all

Saint Ambrose said this about honey. He also called it “profitable and healthful” and “equally sweet for kings and beggars”. Of course he didn’t know about Pooh Bear, otherwise he might have included him and said “equally sweet for kings and beggars and fictional anthropomorphic bears”.

I’ve always been fascinated by bees. Always working, working, working, never questioning, never wanting change, or payment or holidays.

A little while ago I was out shopping, which usually means having some sort of list with things I am meaning to get (plus socks, we all know, they get eaten). Naturally I end up with not too much from my list, but with plenty of little things for the kids, some fancy paper (I am besotted with paper and stationary) and a book or two. On that day I found “The Honey Spinner” by Grace Pundyk. Awesome book. She describes her travels to many countries around the world following the trail of the liquid gold. Some very interesting facts in the book. Some shocking truths as well.

My fascination in bees is definitely not less after reading that book. If anything I am more picky about what honey I buy.

So when that little purple bush in our garden got all these little pinkish white trumpet flowers, I was quite excited. One reason being that it is still alive, as the dog jumped over it one day in a vain attempt to catch a bird sitting on the fence, and totally squashed it. It hung altogether around looking in really bad shape for a really long time. Now, I spoke to it, I reassured it, soothed it, fertilized it, threatened it … and voila, it has grown steadily all winter and looks awesome now with all the flowers. So pretty, I love flowering plants.

Thanks to the flowers there is a lot of buzzing going on in that little bush, quite crazy. Bees flying from dawn to dusk, and working hard.

Funny how their buzzing  makes me feel calm. I spent two really happy hours shooting them, photographically speaking of course. This is a snippet of my efforts. Buzz Buzz.

BuzzyBees

4 responses to “The fruit of bees is desired by all

  • Liz

    I have lots of bees buzzing in my garden right now. What an interesting narration. I’ve had a lot of discussions on honey, with several people on the blog and I think it’s high time I paid real attention to honey. There must be something good I’m missing, I see you are picky about your honey too, like others. Why is this? are you picky about the taste? the source (flowers)? or what? please educate me about honey!

    • azpictured

      Thanks for your interest, Liz! It is a fascinating subject. I am picky in regards how the bees are kept, and how the honey is treated once harvested. True honey should not be heated over a certain point and should not be diluted in any way. Unfortunately this happens, as it is a vast food industry, and as with everything produced for the masses, you’ll find some flaws. The source is a matter of taste, as honey from different plants and areas can taste so very different, it depends on my mood. I find good honey in local markets, I do buy mainly organic honey. Australia is strict with imports, so not much honey from overseas makes in in the country, but I grew up in Europe, and we used to always have different types of local honey at home. I do suggest you get your hands on the book I mentioned ‘The Honey Spinner’ it is a good read. You’ll get a drift of how complex the subject really is, as of course we need bees for pollinating and it is a known fact that bees have been dying for no apparent reason for many years, which is a huge concern. I believe your winter is coming soon, it’ll be a good read while drinking some tea with honey. 🙂

  • Sarwat AJ

    You made me think of Sylvia Plath in a moment. . . .sweet blog sweetie. . .when its about honey. . .

Leave a Reply

