Keep all special thoughts and memores for lifetimes to come

Keep all special thoughts and memories for lifetimes to come. Share these keepsakes with others to inspire hope and build from the past, which can bridge to the future. Mattie Stepanek

I always likes this quote. I first heard of Mattie Stepanek when he was on the Oprah show so many years ago. What an extraordinary young man. So much wisdom and so much grace. His words and thoughts have been an inspiration and have given hope to many people. I know they did for me.

I like keeping important and inspiring quotes in my small collection, to be read when in need of some extra wisdom and guidance. The other thing that gives me, I guess ‘grounding’ is a good word, is photos. I love looking through the old photos of my family. Comparing noses and hair lines. Dimples. Earlobes. Reliving Memories. Memories of people. Memories of places. Of smells. Of occasions. Of sounds. Of words that were said. Of jokes that were made.

As it is with photos, no matter how old: they will be affected by time, in one way or another. No matter how well they are kept, eventually they will fade, they will crack. Sometimes they exchanged hands and moved places so many times that they are ripped and teared and battered and bruised. How do we keep the memories alive when the keepsakes fail us?

Having worked in aged care, and seeing first hand in relatives how age affects the minds of so many, time and time again it was thanks to photos that a conversation could take place. That memories could be shared. That blank spots in the family tree could be filled. Because photos do trigger our brain in a certain way. And suddenly something we haven’t thought about in years comes straight back to us. Like it was yesterday.

With such an important job, photos do deserve to be taken care of. And to be preserved for the future. You see, I am quite passionate about his. This is why I love this part of my job. I give old photos back their life. To inspire hope and build from the past, which can bridge to the future.

This photo was taken in 1914 in Pennsylvania.

Blog

6 responses to “Keep all special thoughts and memores for lifetimes to come

Leave a Reply

