Location Barriers

Photography is about so much, equipment, practice, post-production, did I mention practice? One thing not mentioned a lot is location.
Location is everything. For portrait outdoor sessions I have my few favourite spots around town. Depending on what the clients wish for we can meet in the park, the beach, at the lake, each place in its own right special and different. It doesn’t need a sprawling meadow or towering mountains in the back to make a family photo look great. Sometimes a small patch of grass, some wild flowers, foliage from low hanging branches, rocks or pebbles and a gentle slope into the water are all that is needed.

In the end it’s all about the light, and when the light is beautiful, the photo will be, too.

That’s it for booked sessions. If I’m going on my own, to capture sunsets and stunning landscapes or cityscapes, it’s a whole lot of a different story.

Seriously, I admire fellow photographers who are able to show off their photos of a different location on every different day of the year. No idea how they are doing it.

Many are a one-person business, too, maybe it’s me … and I always thought I’m so organized ….

Anyway, many times all plans fail because there is some extra driving to be done, a re-scheduled soccer game, a lift to a party or to work, extra homework and the printer is acting up …. and the one night of the week with a beautiful sunset goes by without me and my camera.

Some locations have been on my mind for a while, but they are in ‘iffy’ places, dark, out of the way, secluded. The older I get the less I like the idea of being alone with my gear in an area where shouting might not help.

That’s when husband comes in. Very often he’s the savior, because when I say ‘oh I always wondered how it will be like on that cliff at sunset, we might have to crawl through some shrubbery’ or ‘remember that dark alley with the awesome neon sign’, he’s the one getting me to that location. And staying with me, while I take my photos. And getting me there a second, and a third time, so that I really get the most out of the place.
That includes road trips. So when I said last year ‘I really would like to go to Vivid’, he made it happen this year.

And while not in any way ‘iffy’, I was glad he was there to shield me and my camera from the masses, because even for a Tuesday night it was ridiculously full. I have to add getting hit over the head by a tripod, carried by a very eager fellow photographer, to my danger list.

So we went to Vivid, the light festival in Sydney. I am quite happy how things went for the first time. Now for a second, and third time …

Collage

One response to “Location Barriers

Leave a Reply

